7 Quick Takes Friday (cubed)

7 Quick Takes

1. You must, must, must catch Fr. Robert Barron’s Catholicism series on PBS. We DVR’d the first couple of episodes last night to watch with the kids but we caught a couple of minutes and were transfixed. Amazing. Check your local listings.

2. Visited a parish in Virginia Beach last weekend. It was excellent. The kids loved that the priest was kind of like a surfer dude.

3. Despite the constant rain last weekend, we had to take advantage of the fact that we were, indeed at the beach, and so we, along with some of our friends, took our mess of kids down to the water to swim. It’s amazing that kids will totally disregard the driving, *cold* rain and just have the best time. Meanwhile, I huddled in the fetal position. At least we saw dolphins.

4. I’ve been looking for an excuse to post this and I think I’ve finally found one: You know Rob Bell, the pastor who wrote the controversial book, “Love Wins”? Well, he resigned his position at his church this week to become a movie star. Remember the other famous preacher, John Piper, who famously Tweeted (is that a word? I don’t understand Twitter…) “Farewell, Rob Bell” after Bell wrote the abovementioned supposedly heretical (I haven’t read it so I’m not gonna judge and frankly, I don’t care what he thinks) book? Well, this is a hilarious, made in good fun video about Piper that I came across on Devin Rose’s blog. See? I totally made the connection.

5.  Sorry to our Catholic readers if you don’t know Rob Bell or John Piper. Having been Protestant for so long it’s hard to not follow these guys.

6. Catholic thingy: I finally finished Chesterton’s The Ball and the Cross yesterday. That book will mess.you.up. I’m still processing.

7. This has nothing to do with anything but I was highly amused to find out this week that our 2 year old’s head measures in the 97th percentile. How ’bout to make it more relevant to our blog I quote Chesterton(boy, this is really becoming a Chesterton kind of day, isn’t it?): “The fascination of children lies in this: that with each of them all things are  remade, and the universe is put again upon its trial. As we walk the streets and see below us those delightful bulbous heads, three times too big for the body, which mark these human mushrooms, we ought always to remember that within every one of these heads there is a new universe, as new as it was on the seventh day of creation. In each of those orbs there is a new system of stars, new grass, new cities, a new sea.”  Now I feel much better about her enormous noggin.

Happy Friday!

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes, G.K. Chesterton, Nikki, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday (cubed)

  1. Aaron says:

    You guys must have visited St. John the Apostle in Sandbridge. I’m a Va. Beach native and my in-laws have a house in Sandbridge. What a crapy weekend last weekend! Hope you had a good time anyway. I am a subscriber to your blog and my wife and I have just begun RCIA and intend on leaving our Reformed PCA church this fall to seek full communion with the true church Christ founded! Cheers!

  2. Yes! St. John seems like such a nice parish. And yes, we were in Sandbridge. We love it there. We lived in Va. Beach while Jason was in law school and had a great time.
    Many, many blessings to you and your wife as you go through RCIA and enter the Church. Such an exciting thing, isn’t it?

  3. Geomama says:

    Noticed the St Francis de Sales photo on Conversion Diary and had to check out your blog. He’s the patron saint of my blog as well. Have to admit I’ve been Catholic so long that I don’t recognize any of the Protestant names

  4. Nikki says:

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by! Checked out your blog yesterday and LOVE your ETSY store!

  5. Devin Rose says:

    Nikki, glad you liked the silly video I made! I look forward to seeing Fr. Barron’s Catholicism series and reading the book.

Leave a Reply

