Taking a stab at 7 Quick Takes Friday

1. It’s Friday! Which for us now means meatless Friday! We figure hey, if we’re going to be Catholic let’s do it right. Last week we had Thai Veggie Pizza. Tonight’s menu will be a little less time consuming since various family members are out of town or having playdates… It has been fun to talk with the kids about sacrifice and why we don’t eat meat on Fridays.

2. Thankful that a certain spouse, who shall remain nameless, was able to get to the airport, back home to get his passport after discovering his license was not in his wallet, and then back to the airport and aboard his plane this morning. I’m excited to hear exactly how he managed to pull that one off.

3. I just finished reading Salvifici Doloris by Blessed JPII. What should I read next? I’m thinking of tackling the documents of Vatican II.

4. I’m proud of our 7th grader for wowing his classmates with his maddd mythology skillz. Apparently he has established himself as the source for information on ancient Greece, according to a few people. Thank you to Susan Wise Bauer and her History of the World series for making my kids nerds. I mean that in a good way.

5. Our newly minted 2 year old showed me this week that you can, indeed write on the carpet with red crayon. It looks like she wrote “411.”

6. I am discovering that there are soooo many great Catholic blogs out there. A new favorite is A Catholic UNapologist. Patrick Vandapool is pants-wettingly funny. If I was drinking milk whilst reading his blog, it would come out of my nose (the milk, not the blog).

7. It is the 8th day of homeschooling my 7 year old and we took a field trip to celebrate. We visited the Archaeology Museum in Alexandria since that’s what we’ve been talking about in history this week. We figured while we were there we should shop and have some sushi, too.

Happy Friday, everyone!

Thanks to Jen at Conversion Diary for hosting.

This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes, Nikki, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taking a stab at 7 Quick Takes Friday

  1. Patrick says:

    #6… Wow, thanks! I’m glad someone is laughing at me:/ I’ve also added you to my comrades list.

  2. Angie says:

    loved it! especially #5 & 6
    Angie

  3. Hi! Welcome home to the church! I’m a convert too, and it sure is great to be here. I love your blog, and I just wanted to let you know that everything you write sound like my own story. I sometimes think I should link to it and tell my friends to pretend I wrote it. 🙂

    We’re also meatless on Fridays since our conversion, so I completely understand those challenges – we eat a lot of Shrimp Scampi to meet them. Our future canon lawyer – 12 year old son – has figured out abstinence isn’t required until the age of 14, and he sometimes will eat meat at school or with friends “just because he can.”

    I’m looking forward to reading more great things from you!

    • Nikki says:

      Wow, thanks! It amazes me how similar convert stories are, although maybe it shouldn’t surprise me!
      It’s so fun that the internets give converts such a great forum. 🙂
      Yeah, I don’t think our kids have figured out the loophole on the meatless thing yet, although I’m expecting one of them to at some point. ..

Leave a Reply

